Archives Photograph Collection

preview image

Debate Team

image number:



This image appears on page 202 of the 1908 Arbutus yearbook. It represents that portion of the Debate Team that debated the University of Illinois here in Bloomington, Indiana during the Tri-State Debates between Indiana, Illinois, and Ohio State. Indiana University won both of its debates vs. Illinois and Ohio State. The topic of the debates was "Resolved, That Chinese and Japanese Immigration Should be Restricted by Law." NOTE: The IU team that debated Ohio State consisted of Walter E. Myers, Clifton Williams, and Luman K. Babcock. Their image appears in the same yearbook on page 203. According to page one of The Daily Student of February 12, 1908 the two IU teams were chosen the night before during a contest in Science Hall (now Lindley Hall).

date taken:


personal name:

Kiser, Julian Jacob

personal name:

Simons, Louis

personal name:

Sollitt, Ralph Victor

location of individuals:

At left is Julian Jacob Kiser (AB 1910, LLB 1911); at top is Louis Simons (LLB 1908); below is Ralph Victor Sollitt (AB 1910, LLB 1911).

corporate name:

Debate Team, Men's

corporate name:

Oratorical Association, The

event name:

Triangular Debates, The






Debate Team